Kiessling Elected Dreyfus Advisor

Laura L. Kiessling, Novartis Professor of Chemistry at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been elected an Advisor to the Dreyfus Foundation. Kiessling’s research group uses chemical biology to elucidate the biological roles of carbohydrates, with a focus on learning new mechanistic concepts. Kiessling is a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, the American Academy of Microbiology, the American Philosophical Society, and National Academy of Sciences. She is the founding Editor-In-Chief of the journal ACS Chemical Biology. She is an author of over 140 peer-reviewed journal articles, and an inventor on more than 28 U.S. patents. She has advised approximately 100 graduate students and postdoctorates. Her many awards and honors include the Centenary Prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2019), the Tetrahedron Prize (2018), the Alfred Bader Award in Bioinorganic or Bioorganic Chemistry (2014), a Guggenheim Fellowship (2008), a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship (1999), and a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award (1996). To learn more about her research, see

2020 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation announces the selection of 14 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2020. These faculty are within the first five years of their academic careers, have each created an outstanding independent body of scholarship, and are deeply committed to education. Each Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar receives an unrestricted research grant of $100,000.

L. Robert Baker, The Ohio State University
Visualizing Charge and Spin Dynamics at Interfaces

Ou Chen, Brown University
From Nanocrystals to Macromaterials: Bridging the Divide

Emily Derbyshire, Duke University
Chemical Approaches to Understand Infectious Agents

Frank Leibfarth, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Modern Approaches to Functional and Sustainable Thermoplastics

Ellen Matson, University of Rochester
Multimetallic Metal Oxide Clusters for Electrochemical Energy Storage and the Production of Chemical Fuels

Evan Miller, University of California, Berkeley
Chemical Indicators to Visualize Cellular Physiology

Katherine Mirica, Dartmouth College
Molecular Engineering of Multifunctional Materials for Chemical Sensing and Microelectronics

Gary F. Moore, Arizona State University
Bioinspired Materials for Green Chemistry

Alison Narayan, University of Michigan
Biocatalytic Reactions for Selective, Sustainable Synthesis

Gabriela Schlau-Cohen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Elucidating Structural and Energetic Dynamics of Membrane Proteins

Alexander Spokoyny, University of California, Los Angeles
Hybrid Materials and Reagents Featuring Boron-Rich Clusters

Steven Townsend, Vanderbilt University
Chemical Approaches for Trojan-Horse Microbicidal Contraception

Suri Vaikuntanathan, The University of Chicago
Controlling Organization, Self-Assembly, and Dynamics in Complex Non-Equilibrium Systems

Christina Woo, Harvard University
Chemical Control of Cellular Signaling


2020 Dreyfus-Sponsored ACS Awards


Since 1995, the Dreyfus Foundation has sponsored two annual awards that are administered by the American Chemical Society: for Encouraging Women into Careers in the Chemical Sciences, and for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences. In 2020, these awards were made to Katherine J. Franz, the Alexander F. Hehmeyer Professor at Duke University, and Lawrence K. Duffy, Professor and Director of the Resilience and Adaptation Program at University of Alaska Fairbanks, respectively.

Each award consists of $5,000 to the awardee and a grant of $10,000 to an eligible non-profit institution, designated by the recipient, to strengthen the objectives of the award. Franz has directed her award to the Duke University Chem Connect Initiative, which connects Duke students to issues beyond science, including promoting positive mental health in graduate school, awareness of equity issues among scientists, and professional development. Duffy directed his award to support the University of Alaska’s Rural Alaskan Native Institute’s high school students summer college experience.

Dreyfus Foundation 2019 Year in Review


The Dreyfus Foundation’s 2019 Year in Review is now available. It contains information about 2019 Dreyfus Prize winner Robert Langer, the upcoming ACS/Dreyfus symposium for Chemistry in Support of Human Health, the recently-launched Chemistry Shorts film series, and the new grant program for Machine Learning in the Chemical Sciences. View it by clicking here or on the cover image above.


555 Madison Avenue, 20th Floor
New York, NY 10022-3301
(212) 753-1760