Pictured (l. to r.): Wayne Hendrickson, Wilson Ho, Henry C. Walter (Dreyfus Foundation, President), Thomas Barton (ACS, President), Ann McDermott, David Chandler, Lloyd Smith, R. Graham Cooks, W. E. Moerner, and Michael Fayer.

ACS Presidential Symposium on Chemical Instrumentation, 2014

2013 Dreyfus Prize winner R. Graham Cooks of Purdue University was among the speakers who presented their research at a Presidential Symposium on Chemical Instrumentation at the national meeting of the American Chemical Society in Dallas on March 18, 2014. The prominent chemists who spoke represent major contributors to the field: David Chandler (Sandia), Michael Fayer (Stanford), Wayne Hendrickson (Columbia), Wilson Ho (UC Irvine), Ann McDermott (Columbia), W. E. Moerner (Stanford), and Lloyd Smith (U. of Wisconsin-Madison). The Dreyfus Foundation is pleased to support this symposium.

Chair: Session I – Matthew Tirrell, The University of Chicago

W. E. Moerner, Stanford University: Single Molecule Spectroscopy
David Chandler, Sandia National Laboratories: Ion Imaging Detection

Chair: Session II – John Tully, Yale University

Michael Fayer, Stanford University: 2 Dimensional Vibrational Spectroscopy
Wilson Ho, University of California, Irvine: Scanning Tunneling Microscopy

Chair, Session III – JoAnne Stubbe, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Wayne Hendrickson, Columbia University: Anomalous X-Ray Diffraction Structures
Ann McDermott, Columbia University: NMR Structures of Biological Molecules

Chair, Session IV: John Brauman, Stanford University

Lloyd Smith, University of Wisconsin-Madison: Automated DNA Sequencing
R. Graham Cooks, Purdue University: Mass Spectrometry