Dreyfus-ACS Symposium, 2021

The Dreyfus Foundation will sponsor a symposium on Chemistry in Support of Human Health, the topic of the 2019 Dreyfus Prize, at the spring national meeting of the American Chemical Society on Monday, April 12, 2021. The symposium, originally scheduled to take place at the March 2020 ACS national meeting, will be held online. The distinguished speakers include Robert Langer, the winner of the 2019 Dreyfus Prize. This event is also sponsored by the ACS Multidisciplinary Program Planning Group. For information on attending the meeting, please visit the ACS website.

Session One: 12:00 p.m. to 2:50 p.m. Eastern / 9:00 a.m. to 11:50 a.m. Pacific

12:00 p.m Eastern / 9:00 a.m. Pacific: Matthew Tirrell, The University of Chicago, opening comments

Program A, Chair: Daniel Nocera, Harvard University


12:05 p.m Eastern / 9:05 a.m. Pacific: Susan Richardson, University of South Carolina
The Transforming Power of Chemistry: Uncovering Emerging Water Contaminants and Making Drinking Safer

 


12:35 p.m. Eastern / 9:35 a.m. Pacific: David Tirrell, California Institute of Technology
Selective Proteomic Analysis of Cellular Sub-populations in Complex Biological Systems

 

1:05 p.m. Eastern / 10:05 a.m. Pacific: 10-minute break

Program B, Chair: Laura Kiessling, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


1:15 p.m. Eastern / 10:15 a.m. Pacific: Carolyn Bertozzi, Stanford University
Therapeutic Opportunities in Glycoscience

 


1:45 p.m. Eastern / 10:45 a.m. Pacific: Richard Friesner, Columbia University
Computational Methods for Structure Based Drug Discovery

 


2:15 p.m. Eastern / 11:15 a.m. Pacific: Chaitan Khosla, Stanford University
Chemical Analysis and Manipulation of Celiac Disease Pathogenesis


Session Two: 4:00 p.m. to 5:40 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. to 2:40 p.m. Pacific

4:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Pacific: Richard Zare, Stanford University, opening comments


4:05 p.m. Eastern / 1:05 p.m. Pacific: Peter Schultz, The Scripps Research Institute
Playing with the Molecules of Life

 


4:35 p.m. Eastern / 1:35 p.m. Pacific: Sangeeta Bhatia, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tiny Technologies and Medicine

 


5:05 p.m. Eastern / 2:05 p.m. Pacific: Robert Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Chemistry in Support of Human Health: Drug Delivery and Tissue Engineering

 

5:35 p.m. Eastern / 2:35 p.m. Pacific: Matthew Tirrell, concluding comments

555 Madison Avenue, 20th Floor
New York, NY 10022-3301
(212) 753-1760
admin@dreyfus.org