Daniel Nocera Elected to Board of Directors

Daniel G. Nocera, the Patterson Rockwood Professor of Energy at Harvard University, has been elected to the Dreyfus Foundation Board of Directors effective April 2021. Nocera’s group has pioneered studies in renewable energy conversion, including the invention of both the artificial leaf and the bionic leaf. He has received many awards and honors, including the Leigh Ann Conn Prize for Renewable Energy, the Eni Prize, the IAPS Award, and the Burghausen Prize. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and the Indian Academy of Sciences. Nocera received a B.S. in chemistry from Rutgers University and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology. After teaching at MIT since 1997, he moved to Harvard University in 2012.

Dreyfus Foundation 2020 Year in Review

We invite you to view the Camille & Henry Dreyfus Foundation 2020 Year in Review, which is now available online. This brief report includes details about the Dreyfus/ACS symposium on Chemistry in Support of Human Health (to be held on April 12 at the ACS meeting), the latest Chemistry Shorts film on Direct Air Capture, the new Dreyfus Program for Machine Learning in the Chemical Sciences and Engineering, 2020 award recipients, and 2021 program deadlines. Read it by clicking here or on the image above.

Dreyfus/ACS Symposium on Chemistry in Support of Human Health, April 12

The Dreyfus Foundation will sponsor a symposium on Chemistry in Support of Human Health, the topic of the 2019 Dreyfus Prize, at the spring national meeting of the American Chemical Society on Monday, April 12, 2021, 12:00 p.m. – 5:40 p.m. Eastern / 9:00 a.m. – 2:40 p.m. Pacific. The symposium, originally scheduled to take place at the March 2020 ACS national meeting, will be held online. The distinguished speakers are (in sequence): Susan Richardson (U. of South Carolina), David Tirrell (Caltech), Carolyn Bertozzi (Stanford), Richard Friesner (Columbia), Chaitan Khosla (Stanford), Peter Schultz (Scripps Research Institute), Sangeeta Bhatia (MIT), and Robert Langer (MIT, recipient of the 2019 Dreyfus Prize). This event is also sponsored by the ACS Multidisciplinary Program Planning Group. For the full schedule, please visit the symposium web page.

Scott Walter Elected Board President

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation is pleased to announce the election of H. Scott Walter as President of the Board of Directors. He succeeds Henry C. Walter, who had served as President since 2009.

“This is an especially exciting time for the chemical sciences, which has a significant impact on so many aspects of our lives. I look forward to working with the Board and our scientific Advisors to most effectively support the chemists and chemical engineers who are at the forefront of this important work,” said Mr. Walter.

Mr. Walter was elected to the Dreyfus Board in 2008, and has previously served as Vice President and Treasurer, and Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee. Currently, Mr. Walter is a Director, Data & Systems Strategy, at ADL.org. Previously, he was Director of Field Operations at the International Rescue Committee, where he was responsible for the operational excellence of field offices in 40 countries. Earlier in his career Mr. Walter was Senior Vice President and Principal at Bernstein Global Wealth Management, where he played a key role in the development of the firm’s Private Client business. He started his career as a statistician for the International Crop Research Institute in Mali, West Africa, where he was also a Peace Corps volunteer. Mr. Walter, a member of the Dreyfus family, earned a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering at the University of New Hampshire.

2020 Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation announces the selection of 8 Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2020. The award honors young faculty in the chemical sciences who have created an outstanding independent body of scholarship and are deeply committed to education with undergraduates. Each Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar receives an unrestricted research grant of $75,000.

Nicholas Ball, Pomona College
New One-Electron Strategies in S(VI) Fluoride Chemistry


Katherine Berry, Mount Holyoke College
Molecular Mechanisms of Bacterial RNA-Binding Proteins


Christopher Hobbs, Sam Houston State University
Recycling Polymer-Supported Catalysts from Monomer to Polymer and Back to Monomer


Juan Navea, Skidmore College
Shedding Light on Atmospheric Interface Processes through Undergraduate Physical Chemistry Research


Kayode Oshin, Creighton University
Developing New Catalyst Systems for Atom Transfer Radical Addition Reactions


David Rider, Western Washington University
Research at the Intersection of Polymer Chemistry, Applied Polymer Science, and Nanomaterials


John Sivey, Towson University
Environmental Transformations Involving Commonly Overlooked Constituents in Disinfected Water and in Agrochemical Formulations


Lindsay Soh, Lafayette College
Designing Sustainable Biorefinery Products and Processes Using Green Chemistry and Engineering



555 Madison Avenue, 20th Floor
New York, NY 10022-3301
(212) 753-1760