Dedicated to the advancement
of the chemical sciences

Mary Eileen Dowling Walter Elected to Board of Directors

Mary Eileen Dowling Walter was elected to the Board of Directors at the 2018 annual meeting. Ms. Walter also has served on the Boards of the Rochester General Hospital Association, Rochester General Hospital, the Rochester Garden Club, and McCurdy and Company, Inc. She was a Vice President at B. Foreman Company and holds a BA in Economics from Newton College (now part of Boston College).

Dreyfus Recognized at Spring 2018 ACS National Meeting

At the Spring 2018 national meeting of the American Chemical Society, the Dreyfus Foundation was recognized for 25 years of support of the ACS Award for Encouraging Women into Careers in the Chemical Sciences & the ACS Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences. Pictured are Dreyfus Board members Richard Zare & Scott Walter with Dorothy J. Phillips, ACS Director-at-Large.

Nocera & Rogers Elected Dreyfus Advisors

Daniel Nocera and John Rogers have been elected to serve as Advisors to the Dreyfus Foundation, effective April 2018. Nocera is the Patterson Rockwood Professor of Energy at Harvard University. His group has pioneered studies in renewable energy conversion and invented the artificial leaf and bionic leaf. Rogers is the Louis Simpson and Kimberly Querrey Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, and Neurological Surgery at Northwestern University. His research seeks to understand and exploit interesting characteristics of “soft” and unusual classes of materials. These include polymers, liquid crystals, biological tissues, and semiconductor micro/nanomaterials. His focus is on bio-integrated systems and bio-inspired designs.

Dreyfus Foundation 2017 Year in Review

The Camille & Henry Dreyfus Foundation 2017 Year in Review is now available. This brief report includes information about 2017 Dreyfus Prize winner Michele Parrinello, the upcoming ACS / Dreyfus symposium on Theoretical & Computational Chemistry, the Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Conference, lectureships at the University of Basel & undergraduate institutions, 2017 award recipients, and 2018 program deadlines. Read it here.

Fox & Brauman Become Emeritus Directors

Two Dreyfus Board members, Marye Anne Fox and John Brauman, became emeritus directors in 2017. Brauman first joined the Foundation in 1988 and was elected to the Board in 2006. Fox started her association with Dreyfus in 1991 and became a Director in 2002. Among their many honors, each received the National Medal of Science. The brief videos produced in conjunction with these awards provide further details about the careers of these esteemed scientists. See the videos on Fox and Brauman.