The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation is pleased to announce the selection of eight new Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2023. The award honors young faculty in the chemical sciences who have created an outstanding independent body of scholarship and are deeply committed to education with undergraduates. Each Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar receives an unrestricted research grant of $75,000.

Michael Bertucci, Lafayette College
Characterizing and Modulating Bacterial Quorum Sensing Systems with Synthetic Peptides 

Tim Kowalczyk, Western Washington University
Excited-State Electronic Structure Driven Design of Photoactive Organic Materials

Tyler Meldrum, William & Mary
Understanding Macroscopic Material Behavior by Measuring Microscopic Molecular Motion via Single-Sided NMR Relaxometry

Heather Miller, High Point University
Molecular Mechanisms behind Small Molecule Adjuvants that Combat MRSA 

Scott Simpson, St. Bonaventure University
Using Computational Chemistry to Solve Environmental Problems 

Monica So, California State University, Chico
Charge Transport of Complex Materials

Eric Villa, Creighton University
Bridging Solution- and Solid-State Chemistries: Exploring Polyoxometalate Ion Reactivity and Targeted Syntheses of Lanthanide Materials

Amanda Wolfe, University of North Carolina Asheville
Developing Novel Antibiotics and Adjuvants to Combat Pathogenetic Bacterial Infections