The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation has selected 13 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2017. These young faculty have each created an outstanding independent body of scholarship and are deeply committed to education. The frontier accomplishments of these award recipients span the broad range of contemporary research in the chemical sciences. Each Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar receives an unrestricted research grant of $75,000.

Chase Beisel, North Carolina State University
Understanding and Exploiting the Biochemical Properties of CRISPR-Cas Immune Systems

Brandi Cossairt, University of Washington
The Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry of Sustainable Technologies

Jason Crawford, Yale University
Decoding Specialized Bacterial Metabolic Pathways in the Human Microbiome

Aaron Esser-Kahn, University of California, Irvine
Chemical Methods to Understand and Improve Vaccines

Alison Fout, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ligand Influences on Base Metals for Multi-Electron Reactions

Randall Goldsmith, University of Wisconsin-Madison
New Technologies for Single-Molecule Spectroscopy: Optical Microresonators, Fluorescent Catalysts, High Concentrations, and Cancelling Brownian Motion

Robert Knowles, Princeton University
Proton-Coupled Electron Transfer in Organic Synthesis and Asymmetric Catalysis

Julius Lucks, Northwestern University
A Synthetic Approach to Uncovering how RNA Molecules Coordinate the Biochemical Processes of Life

Thomas Markland, Stanford University
Theory and Simulation of Quantum Processes at Interfaces and in Confinement

Christian Metallo, University of California, San Diego
Metabolic Regulation of Lipid Diversity

Michelle O’Malley, University of California, Santa Barbara
Deconstructing Microbial Consortia for Sustainable Chemistry

William Tisdale, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Energy Transport in Semiconductor Nanomaterials

Guihua Yu, The University of Texas at Austin
Building Artificial Layered Solids from the Bottom-Up to Enable New Energy Technologies