The Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences

2015 Topic: Making Molecules and Materials
Deadline: March 2, 2015
Announcement: May 2015

The Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences is awarded to an individual in a selected area of chemistry to recognize exceptional and original research that has advanced the field in a major way. The prize is awarded biennially and consists of a monetary award of $250,000, a medal, and a citation.

Recipients of the Dreyfus Prize:

2013: R. Graham Cooks, Purdue University, Chemical Instrumentation (Announcement)
2011: Tobin Marks, Northwestern University, Catalysis (Announcement)
2009: George Whitesides, Harvard University, Materials Chemistry (Announcement)

The prize is generally awarded to an individual. If the cited advance is substantially interdisciplinary, those aspects that represent original chemistry should be clear.

The prize is open to international nominations of an individual. There is no restriction on the number of nominees from a given institution, nor is institutional approval required. Present Dreyfus Foundation Directors, Advisors, consultants, previous Dreyfus Prize winners, and Nobel Laureates are not eligible.

Nomination Procedure
Any person may nominate a candidate for the Dreyfus Prize. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Required Information
Nomination package: The nomination should be formatted on 8 1/2 x 11-inch paper, using 12-point font size. Assemble the five items below as a single PDF and email it to

    1. The online nomination form
    2. Nomination letter (three-page limit)
    3. CV that includes highest degree and advisor (five-page limit)
    4. List of up to ten total papers and/or patents relating to the nomination
    5. Provisional citation (30-word limit)

Letters of support: Up to three letters of support will be accepted for each nomination. Letters should be PDFs, formatted on 8 1/2 x 11-inch letterhead, using 12-point font size, and be no more than three pages. These letters are to be sent directly to the Foundation at Note, letters of support should not be received with the nomination package.

Questions may be directed to the Foundation office by e-mail at or by telephone at 212-753-1760.

Award Ceremony
The award ceremony will be held at the institution of the prizewinner and will include the presentation of the award, an award talk, and a reception. The ceremony will most likely be held in late September, depending on the institutional calendar.