Zhenan Bao and Milan Mrksich Elected to Board of Directors


Zhenan Bao and Milan Mrksich have been elected to the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation Board of Directors effective April 2022.

Dr. Bao is a K.K. Lee Professor in Chemical Engineering at Stanford University. Since 2018, she has been the Department Chair. She founded and has been directing the Stanford Wearable Electronics Initiative (eWEAR). Dr. Bao is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. She is known for her pioneering work on skin-inspired electronic materials and their applications to medical and energy devices. She has developed a wide range of novel molecular design concepts for organic electronic materials and fabrication methods. Dr. Bao received her Ph.D. degree in Chemistry from The University of Chicago in 1995.

Dr. Mrksich is Vice President for Research and the Henry Wade Rogers Professor with appointments in Chemistry, Biomedical Engineering and Cell & Developmental Biology, at Northwestern University. His discovery of the SAMDI technology has been commercialized by SAMDI Tech and is the leading label-free method in drug discovery. He was also the founding Director of Northwestern’s Center for Synthetic Biology and an Associate Director of Technology and Infrastructure in the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Mrksich received his Ph.D. degree in Organic Chemistry from the California Institute of Technology in 1994.

Edward A. Reilly Retires from Board of Directors After 36 Years

Edward A. Reilly has retired from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation Board of Directors, after 36 years of service. Mr. Reilly began his tenure at the Foundation in July 1985 and has held multiple leadership positions on the Board since that time, including Audit Committee Member, Secretary-Treasurer, Secretary, and Compensation Committee Member. Outside of the Foundation, Mr. Reilly has a long and distinguished career as an attorney and as a faculty member at Duke University Law School.

H. Scott Walter, Foundation President, commented: “On behalf of the Board of Directors and staff of the Dreyfus Foundation, we wish to express our sincerest appreciation to Mr. Reilly for his many years of service. We also extend our very best wishes to him in his future endeavors.”

Mr. Reilly said: “It has been a pleasure to work with the Foundation’s Board, staff, and advisors for over thirty years. I will always be grateful for the collaborative and good-spirited endeavors. I look forward to following the Foundation as it continues its important work to advance the chemical sciences.”

2022 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation is pleased to announce the selection of 18 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2022. These faculty are within the first five years of their academic careers, have each created an outstanding independent body of scholarship, and are deeply committed to education. Each Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar receives an unrestricted research grant of $100,000.

Justin Caram, University of California, Los Angeles
Materials which Explore the Extremes of Excitonic Photophysics

Jefferson Chan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Light in, Sound out: Making Chemical Probes to Detect Invisible Disease States Using Photoacoustic Imaging

Sujit Datta, Princeton University
Dynamics of Soft and Living Matter in Complex Environments

Christopher Hendon, University of Oregon
Hydrogen Atom Transfer Catalysis in Earth-Abundant Metal-Organic Frameworks

Lilian Hsiao, North Carolina State University
Physico-Chemical Design of Bioinspired Soft Materials to Reproduce Touch

Mark Levin, University of Chicago
Single-Atom Logic for Molecular Skeletal Editing

Weiyang (Fiona) Li, Dartmouth College
Novel Functional Electrochemical Materials for Energy and Sustainability

Brian Liau, Harvard University
Unraveling Macromolecular Complexes and Gene Regulation with Chemical Genomics

Steven Lopez, Northeastern University
Sustainable Energy and Chemistry through Computations and Machine Learning

Maxwell Robb, California Institute of Technology
Molecular Design Strategies for Mechanochemically Responsive Polymers

Sandeep Sharma, University of Colorado, Boulder
Accurate Electronic Structure for Quantum Materials and Metalloenzymes

Daniel Suess, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Understanding and Exploiting Electronic Cooperation in Metalloclusters

William Tarpeh, Stanford University
Rendering “Wastewater” Obsolete: Designing Selective Electrochemical Separations to Valorize Water Pollutants

Ashleigh Theberge, University of Washington
Bioanalytical Chemistry for Medicine and the Environment

V. Sara Thoi, Johns Hopkins University
Molecular Approaches to Materials Design in Energy Conversion and Storage

Jesús Velázquez, University of California, Davis
Atomically Precise Active Sites for Catalytic Small-Molecule Conversion

Lauren Zarzar, The Pennsylvania State University
Dynamics of Active and Responsive Microscale Materials

Mingjiang Zhong, Yale University
Rapid Access to Diversified Polymer Properties through Microstructure Engineering

Dreyfus/ACS Symposium on Environmental Chemistry: March 22

The Dreyfus Foundation has organized a symposium on Environmental Chemistry, the topic of the 2021 Dreyfus Prize, that will be held at the spring national meeting of the American Chemical Society on Tuesday, March 22, 2022.

The distinguished speakers are Paul Anastas (Yale), James G. Anderson (Harvard, recipient of the 2021 Dreyfus Prize), Barbara Finlayson-Pitts (University of California, Irvine), Vicki Grassian (University of California, San Diego), Frank Keutsch (Harvard), Francois Morel (Princeton), Dustin Schroeder (Stanford), and John Seinfeld (California Institute of Technology).

The anticipated agenda is provided below. For up-to-date information including how to attend, please visit the ACS meeting website.

Note: All times shown are Pacific.

8:30 am: Matthew Tirrell, The University of Chicago: introductory remarks

8:35 am: Barbara Finlayson-Pitts, University of California, Irvine
Atmospheric Chemistry and the Fundamental Chemical Sciences

9:10 am: Vicki Grassian, University of California, San Diego
Interfacial and Multiphase Environmental Chemistry

9:45 am: John Seinfeld, California Institute of Technology
Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics: Air Pollution to Climate Change

10:30 am: Dustin Schroeder, Stanford University
Observing the Evolving Subsurface Environments of Ice Sheets with Ice Penetrating Radar

11:05 am: Francois Morel, Princeton University, The Effect of Ocean Acidification on Marine Phytoplankton

2:00 pm: Paul Anastas, Yale University
Green Chemistry: The “And Therefore” of Environmental Chemistry

2:35 pm: Frank Keutsch, Harvard University
Chemical Intervention Via Stratospheric Aerosol Injection: Risk and Efficacy of Non-Sulfate Materials

3:10 pm: James G. Anderson, Harvard University
Quantitative Forecasts of Risk Triggered by Climate Change Resulting from Fossil Fuel Use