2016 Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation has selected 7 Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2016. The award provides an unrestricted research grant of $60,000 to young faculty at primarily undergraduate institutions who are accomplished researchers and committed educators.

Fadi Bou-Abdallah, State University of New York at Potsdam
Iron Oxidation and Deposition Mechanisms in WT Heteropolymer Ferritins and Ferritin Variants Causing Neuroferritinopathy

Timothy B. Clark, University of San Diego
Metal-Catalyzed Borylation Reactions

Kelling J. Donald, University of Richmond
Weak Interactions and Chemical Bonding Phenomena in Inorganic and Organic Systems: Understanding, Predicting, and Applying

Jane M. Liu, Pomona College
Molecular Understanding and Applications of Bacterial RNAs

Katherine E. Plass, Franklin & Marshall College
Engineering Copper Sulfide Nanoparticles to Modulate Ion Exchange and Photocatalysis

Matthew T. Whited, Carleton College
Exploiting Metal/Main-Group Cooperation in Small Molecule Activation

Liliya A. Yatsunyk, Swarthmore College
Deciphering the Structure and Dynamics of Quadruplex DNA and DNA-ligand Complexes

2016 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation has selected 13 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2016. These faculty are within the first five years of their academic careers, have each created an outstanding independent body of scholarship, and are deeply committed to education. The frontier accomplishments of these award recipients span the broad range of contemporary research in the chemical sciences. Each Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar receives an unrestricted research grant of $75,000.

Andrew Boydston, University of Washington
Functional Materials Across Multiple Length Scales

Luis Campos, Columbia University
Development of Materials for Next Generation Solar Cells

William Chueh, Stanford University
Ion Insertion Electrochemistry at the Molecular- & Nano-scale

Neal Devaraj, University of California, San Diego
Site-Specific Covalent Tagging of RNA for Live Cell Imaging and Affinity Purification

Mircea Dinca, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Teaching Sponges New Tricks: Charge Transport and Heterogeneous Catalysis in Microporous Metal-Organic Frameworks

Naomi Ginsberg, University of California, Berkeley
Elucidating Dynamic Processes in Heterogeneous Condensed Phases at the Nanoscale

Aditya Khair, Carnegie Mellon University
Physico-chemical Transport Processes in Soft Materials and Complex Fluids

Jared Lewis, The University of Chicago
Engineering Proteins for Selective Catalysis

Amanda Morris, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Metal Organic Framework Artificial Photosynthetic Arrays

Eranda Nikolla, Wayne State University
Oxidative Coupling of Methane Using Layered, Nickelate Oxide Catalysts

Michael Pluth, University of Oregon
New Tools for Biological Hydrogen Sulfide Research and Applications to Enhanced Chemical Education

Nathaniel Szymczak, University of Michigan
New Approaches to Develop Catalysts for Energy Relevant Chemical Conversions

Qiu Wang, Duke University
Developing New Strategies and Chemical Probes for Molecular Imaging

2015 Dreyfus Prize Awarded to Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

UA, CM Today, April 24 2014, Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation has announced that Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, the J. C. Warner University Professor of Natural Sciences at Carnegie Mellon University, has won the 2015 Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences, conferred this year in Making Molecules and Materials. The international prize, awarded biennially, consists of $250,000, a medal, and a citation. The award ceremony was held at Carnegie Mellon University on October 1 and included a lecture by Matyjaszewski.

Matyjaszewski developed the process of atom transfer radical polymerization (ATRP), which has proven to be the most important advance in polymer synthesis in half a century. Based on ATRP, he has developed processes for efficiently synthesizing complex structured polymers and co-polymers, as well as many other important new materials. In addition to developing applications of ATRP, he has led this new field in understanding mechanisms and developing new catalysts. For example, his development of new copper complexes, over one million times more active than the original, have allowed catalysts to be reduced to parts per million levels, and has made the ATRP process sufficiently environmentally friendly that Matyjaszewski was awarded the 2009 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award.

In addition to these major advances in polymer chemistry, Matyjaszewski has also been effective at transferring the ATRP process to industry, with applications that include automotive coatings, adhesives, cosmetics, inkjet printing, smart and electronic materials, and many others, with an estimated commercial value exceeding $20 billion. “Kris Matyjaszewski’s work has made free radical polymerization a precision tool for polymer scientists to make controlled macromolecular structures, and has opened new avenues for industry in the control of polymer architecture in practical manufacturing processes,” stated Matthew Tirrell, Dean and Founding Pritzker Director of the Institute for Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago and Board Member of the Dreyfus Foundation.

Henry C. Walter, President of the Dreyfus Foundation, said, “Krzysztof Matyjaszewski’s work in polymer chemistry follows in the tradition of Camille and Henry Dreyfus, who were major innovators in their day in making polymer materials. We are proud to recognize his immense accomplishments with the Dreyfus Prize.”

“I feel very honored and flattered to receive the Dreyfus Prize for making molecules and materials. This recognition addresses not only contributions of my students and collaborators but also all polymer chemists working in the area of controlled/living polymerization focused on the precise synthesis of small molecules and macromolecular materials with controlled architecture and functionality for targeted applications,” said Matyjaszewski.