2017 Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation has selected seven Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2017. The award provides an unrestricted research grant of $60,000 to young faculty at primarily undergraduate institutions who are accomplished researchers and committed educators. Lauren Benz, University of San Diego The Surface Chemistry of Complex Materials Juliane Fry, Reed College NOx and Particulate Matter: Determining the Chemical Mechanisms Behind Regional Air Pollution Amelia Fuller, Santa Clara University New Functions of Biomimetic Oligoamides as Sensors for Water Contaminants John Gilbertson, Western Washington University Bioinspired Movement of Protons and Electrons for Small Molecule Activation Benjamin Swarts, Central Michigan University Illuminating the Mycobacterial Cell Wall through Undergraduate Chemical Biology Research Helen White, Haverford College Physicochemical and Biochemical Insights into the Cycling of Organic Contaminants in Marine Environments Douglas Young, The College of William & Mary Application of Unnatural Amino Acids to Prepare Multivalent Bioconjugates