The Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences

Announcment of topic: Fall 2014
Deadline: March 2, 2015
Announcement: early May 2015

The Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences is awarded to an individual in a selected area of chemistry to recognize exceptional and original research that has advanced the field in a major way. The prize is awarded biennially and consists of a monetary award of $250,000, a medal, and a citation.

Recipients of the Dreyfus Prize:

2013: R. Graham Cooks, Purdue University, Chemical Instrumentation (Announcement)
2011: Tobin Marks, Northwestern University, Catalysis (Announcement)
2009: George Whitesides, Harvard University, Materials Chemistry (Announcement)

The 2015 Dreyfus Prize topic has not been announced.

The prize is generally awarded to an individual. If the cited advance is substantially interdisciplinary, those aspects that represent original chemistry should be clear.

The prize is open to individuals, both domestically and internationally. There is no restriction on the number of nominees from a given institution, nor is institutional approval required. Present Dreyfus Foundation Advisors and consultants, previous Dreyfus Prize winners, and Nobel Laureates are not eligible.

Nomination Procedure
Any person may nominate a candidate for the Dreyfus Prize. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Required Information
Nomination package: The nomination should be formatted on 8 1/2 x 11-inch paper, using 12-point font size. Assemble it as:

1. The online nomination form (Not yet available)
2. Nomination letter (three-page limit)
3. CV of not more than four pages (include highest degree and advisor)
4. List of not more than ten total papers and patents relating to the nomination
5. Provisional citation (fewer than thirty words)

Please generate all above materials as a single PDF document and e-mail it to:

Address all nomination materials to: The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc., 555 Madison Avenue, 20th Floor, New York, NY 10022-3301.

Letters of support: No more than three letters of support should be formatted on 8 1/2 x 11-inch letterhead, using 12-point font size, and sent directly to the Foundation. These letters should be sent via electronic mail as a PDF to However, letters of support should not be received with the nomination package.

Questions may be directed to the Foundation office by e-mail at or by telephone at 212-753-1760.

Award Ceremony
The award ceremony will be held at the institution of the prizewinner and will include the presentation of the award, an award talk, and a reception. The ceremony will most likely be held in late September, depending on the institutional calendar.