Jean Dreyfus Boissevain Lectureship for Undergraduate Institutions

Deadline: May 20, 2013
Announcement: early August 2013

The Jean Dreyfus Boissevain Lectureship awards provide an $18,500 grant to bring a leading researcher to a primarily undergraduate institution to give a series of lectures in the chemical sciences.  The lecturer is expected to substantially interact with undergraduate students and faculty over the period of the visit. The program provides funds to host the speaker and support of summer research opportunities for two undergraduate students.

Applications for the Lectureship award will be accepted from departments in the chemical sciences at primarily undergraduate institutions in the States, Districts, and Territories of the United States of America. Eligible departments grant a BS or MS degree in chemistry, but not a PhD. Institutions are restricted to only one application annually for this program. Institutions that receive an award are not eligible to re-apply for five years.

Evaluation of the application is based upon the proposed invited lecturer and schedule of the visit, which is expected to be a minimum of two days. Included is an assessment of the department’s efforts in scholarly research and education in the contemporary chemical sciences.  Cited examples of the latter may include, but are not limited to, descriptions of the faculty research programs, internal and external research support, undergraduate participation in research, special educational or outreach efforts, the historical number of chemistry majors, and the number of those that go on to graduate school in the chemical sciences. Nominations are reviewed by distinguished faculty in the chemical sciences.

2012 Awards

  • Bard College, Department of Chemistry
  • Colgate University, Department of Chemistry
  • Eastern Michigan University, Department of Chemistry
  • Villanova University, Department of Chemistry
  • Willamette University, Department of Chemistry

2011 Awards

  • Northern Kentucky University, Department of Chemistry
  • University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • University of San Diego, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • University of St. Thomas, Department of Chemistry
  • Wellesley College, Chemistry Department

2010 Awards

  • Bucknell University, Chemistry Department
  • Claremont McKenna, Pitzer, and Scripps Colleges, Joint Science Department
  • College of the Holy Cross, Chemistry Department
  • Western Washington University, Chemistry Department

Jean Dreyfus Boissevain Lectureship for Undergraduate Institutions awardees.

The award total is $18,500. Of this amount, $5,000 is to be allocated to the support of the lectures (for example: travel, accommodation, receptions and/or dinners, etc.) and $2,500 as an honorarium for the lecturer.  The remaining $11,000 is to support the summer research of two undergraduate students. Each stipend is to be no less than $4,500. The balance may be used to defray costs associated with the research and/or the scientific advancement of each student, e.g., travel to scientific meetings. Charges associated with indirect costs or institutional overhead are not allowed.

Application Procedure

Application package: All application materials must be received at the Foundation office by the deadline. Applications recommended for approval are presented to the Foundation's Board of Directors in time for award announcements by early August 2013.

Required Information
The application is limited to nine pages and should be formatted on 8 1/2 x 11-inch paper, using a 12-point font. The nine page limit includes the online application form. Assemble it as:

1. The online application form [available HERE, note: Adobe Acrobat is required to complete the form]
2. An introduction to the department
3. A listing of the department faculty that includes their educational training, a brief description of their research programs, and financial support
4. A description of the extent of undergraduate involvement in research
5. Examples of the proposed lecturers and their associated topics
6. Proposed schedule of the lectures and activities that demonstrate engagement of the lecturer with students and faculty
7. A description of how the Lectureship will be promoted and documented
8. A simple budget describing how award funds are anticipated to be used
9. A description of the process to select the undergraduate research students

Please generate all above materials as a single PDF document and e-mail it to:

Address all nomination materials to: The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc., 555 Madison Avenue, 20th Floor, New York, NY 10022-3301.

Questions may be directed to the Foundation office by e-mail at or by telephone at 212-753-1760.

A brief report is due after the lectureship and a second report upon completion of the undergraduate research. Reports should be concise, formatted as single-sided, on 8 1/2 x 11-inch paper, using 12-point font size, and contain the following sections that apply:

Lectureship report:
1. A summary description of the lectureship, including titles, invited audience, approximate attendance, and lecturer engagement activities
2. Examples of any promotional materials
3. A simple financial statement

Undergraduate Research report:
1. Description of the research activities, curricula vitae of the mentors, and the students' future plans
2. Categorical financial report

Please generate the reports as a single PDF document and e-mail it to:

Additional information
1. Publications and presentations describing research supported by the award should acknowledge the Jean Dreyfus Boissevain Lectureship for Undergraduate Institutions.

2. Procedural questions may be directed to the Foundation office by telephone at 212-753-1760 or e-mail at

The Lectureship replaces the Jean Dreyfus Boissevain Undergraduate Scholarships for Excellence in Chemistry.

Jean Dreyfus Boissevain

Jean Dreyfus Boissevain was President of the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation from 1956 until her death in 1991. Born in Chicago, in 1931 she married Camille Dreyfus, founder and chairman of the Celanese Corporation of America and of the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation. Her second husband, Ernest W. Boissevain, died in 1984.

An operatic soprano and patron of the arts, as Jean Tennyson she sang with several leading European and American opera companies, including La Scala in Milan, the Chicago Civic Opera, and the San Francisco Opera Company. She also sang on the CBS Radio program “Great Moments in Music” from 1942 to 1946.

After World War II, Mrs. Boissevain founded the Artists Veterans Hospital Programs of the Musicians Emergency Fund, which presented concerts for patients in veterans hospitals. She also served as a patron of the Philharmonic Society of New York and as vice chair of New York City’s Lewisohn Stadium Concerts. She was a trustee of the New York City Opera and a principal supporter of the Spoleto Festival.

Mrs. Boissevain received several awards, including the Stella della Solidarieta from the Italian government, the St. Olaf Medal from the King of Norway, and an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters from the University of Vermont.